Project 8: Yarns: Stage 1 – Exploring the qualities of yarn

For this stage the idea was to collect a variety of weights and types of yarns to add to my collection for stitching and I did so with a view to my final assignment in Part 5 – I am not in a financial position that enables me, as yet, to make a generalised collection and nor am I someone who does this without a specific project in mind except for when I simply cannot resist a fabric or thread!  However I have been slowly keeping plastic bags, some faux leather and also some lavender grasses/heads with a view to this project and future projects.

img_2090As the majority of my yarns have been collection for my theme book I decided to do small windings on cards with notes of the make and type of fibres used within the yarns for future reference as labels tend to get mislaid very easily – I also kept washing instructions where they were stated.

In my sketchbook for this project I made similar windings and with basic notes for identification purposes of a small selection of my yarns that I would continue to use and also included strips of some maps, pink plastic bag strips and also  strips of cellophane – this selection is not inclusive of all yarns used.

I do have further yarns such as silk, cotton and pearl threads in my collections particularly in my theme book selections at my disposal.

I am intrigued by the use of raffia and also garden twines (jute primarily) which I did later use in my weaving samples – like an early use of hessian in Project 6 as my background fabric and raffia in the same sample these are yarns that I will be no doubt experimenting much further particularly as different colours become available with the jute twines.

A further yarn I am intrigued about experimenting with in the future is Japanese shifu paper yarn – I have only come across this as I near the end of this project an am carrying an injury that prevents me trying it just at the moment frustratingly but I have made notes to bear it in mind.

I have a good selection of wools, man-made fibres and natural fibres but lack the more expensive mohair, alpaca and angora mentioned in the course materials but for now am content to explore less expensive versions even if man-made but bearing in mind for the future that I may want to invest in those yarns for their luxurious qualities.

As I state at the beginning I have specifically chosen my yarns with a view to my final project in Part 5 and in doing so this enables me to experiment in this Part 4 with some ideas for my theme and get to know the qualities of the yarns in weaving and textile structures which may generate further ideas.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in ASSIGNMENT 4, ASSIGNMENTS, Coursework, Part 4, Project 8, Stage 1 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

