Part 4: Textile Structures: overview

The purpose of this part of the course is exploring yarn and textile structures through weaving, twisting of yarns together, plaiting and knotting and as the course material states turning line into an area.

I am writing this as I approach the two weaving samples at Stage 4 and reflecting now it has been fascinating to both collect a variety of yarns and also trying to see what qualities they have as well as using lavender, plastic bags, raffia and faux leather.  The course material suggests other materials such as animal hair, strips of wood, wire etc but I have been happy to work with what I have immediately around me although I have realised that I would like to work more with ribbons – unfortunately I have been hampered by a whiplash injury so have not been able to go out and purchase more locally but will bear including some more experiments using this as I work on my final assignment in Part 5 as I have used ribbon in personal projects and am aware of many of its qualities and how I may use it.

In the course material it asks you to look around your home and how furnishings, clothes etc have been constructed and this is something that has fascinated me for sometime – I have constructed myself many of our furnishings due to my love of stitching including curtains, cushions, clothes and quilts so am familiar with many techniques.  What is now interesting is to consider the points mentioned of new technology that has speeded up processes but also the craft processes and more ethnic designs that are having such a major influence of fabric design now – I personally note the Aboriginal designs of Australia filtering through plus the influence of other cultures such as India, Africa, Chinese and Japanese with the latter having been an influence for many years on artists and I note a new revived interest again.

There is a move towards reviving crafts and older textile techniques as the course notes states and conservation techniques in country houses I question may be partly responsible as the houses restore the furnishings and publicize their work   – this is something that I am curious about having visited country and town houses for my History of Art module.

As I read through the initial notes I was aware of being curious about the journey ahead in this part of the course and wondering where the processes might lead me and in particular I was excited about the prospect of working with a variety of yarns and materials to create different textures and new textiles.

 

This entry was posted in ASSIGNMENT 4, ASSIGNMENTS, Coursework, Introduction, Part 4 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

