SYNOPSIS FOR ASSIGNMENT 1

SYNOPSIS FOR ASSIGNMENT 1

My experience for this first part of the course has been one of a journey that has been a combination of discoveries, excitement, frustration and a huge learning curve but one that I thought I would understand far easier than I did at the beginning and ended with a deeper depth of knowledge at the end.

The early part of the mark making I found the most difficult as I find it difficult to express marks emotionally or to try to portray adjectives but also understood what the exercises were trying to achieve.  However the range of marks I produced, although not as extensive as I would like, I am at least satisfied with them and do realise that this range will increase over time.  Once I got to trying to do marks to portray textures I found it easier – my marks may not be accurate in that portrayal but I understood they are my interpretation of what I see and this was the section of the project I really enjoyed.

The media I used did have a direct bearing on the marks I was able to produce and I can see how the different ones can give very different effects in the same way that I later learnt that different yarns can give totally different looks to different stitches.

Moving on to the second project I really enjoyed using all the different yarns as I experimented with the different effects they could produce with a relatively small variety of stitches.

My big surprise was how much I liked using the hessian – I had purchased it with a total dislike of the fabric but have found it the most textural and effective to use when combined with differing yarns and stitches.  I understand now how much my choice of background fabric will be vitally important to my future work and is as important as my choice of yarns and will have a direct bearing on them too and it is something to bear in mind as I plan a future project.

I am used to working in a traditional way with various stitched techniques and to now use a wide variety of yarns and stitches to produce many different effects and being encouraged to experiment has been a fascinating experience – even though I knew the stitches it was still a learning curve to see just what could be produced with them

Finally what I have enjoyed the most is the differing textural effects that can be produced by even just one yarn in a variety of stitches or one stitch in a variety of yarns – doing the last sample was fascinating as I did it instinctively and tried fabric strips too in conjunction with other yarns and the range of textures I am happy with.

There are areas, in particularly sketching marking making, that I am aware that I want to improve and increase but also appreciate that time, experience and confidence and further research and learning will enable me to achieve this.

 

 

This entry was posted in ASSIGNMENT 1, ASSIGNMENTS and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

