Project 1: Stage 4 – Working from my sketchbooks

For this stage I was required to look back through all my work and choose 4 or 5 of the images that were rich in texture and then make a series of textural drawings as I did in Stage 3 and using my viewing frame to isolate an area.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For the textural drawings above I chose the 2 isolated images below – I chose a contrast of one being a collage and the other a combed painted mark.  The collage version was interesting to do because I could use a variety of marks and take advantage of the texture of corrugated card to rub crayon over to show the texture of one of the cotton fabrics. Although the textures of the cottons was similar the patterns on the cottons were very different and I felt I wanted to portray these as different marks and textures by using sharpie pens, crayons and pencils. The other I decided to really use the corrugated card to create the marks to show what I felt was the texture created by the combed paint – this was done solely in crayon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For the next 2 I again chose 2 different images – one being the collage of the sea urchin and the other a rubbing of a drain cover.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The collage image I was able to study and the marks were a mixture of circles and dashes – simple but used to show  the bubbly texture of the knobbly bits along with the still slightly rough tiny nobbles.  The drain cover was easier to sketch from the earlier rubbing  and again I kept the marks a fairly simple mixture of dashes and crosses or cross hatching – like the collage sea urchin this one stood out for me as although simple it does for me give that feeling of different textures.

At this point I realised that I am working with a small group of marks which I find comfortable and am able to use in different ways and with different media.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For the last textural study I again went back to the collage I did at Stage 2 and experimented with different marks in pencil and crayon in green for the textures paper and fabric part of the collage and using stronger lines and curved marks in primarily crayon to show the creme egg wrappers and their creases and crumples.   Not entirely sure about this study as I could not seem to get the feel of what I was hoping to do and show.

However on the right hand side I looked at one of my bark rubbings I had done at Stage 2 and chose to try and show the texture using long sweeping soft marks in a lighter crayon with short stubby fat marks for the actual bark in a darker crayon – I have a sample of sashiko and kantha embroidery near my desk and this was undoubtedly influencing this study.

Lastly I went back to some of my images to do 4 textural studies on some of the images in my sketchbooks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For the first I choose the image of the Kings Highway in Maui but this time did the study on the full image and used only pencils from 6B to 6H.  I felt alot more confident with this sketch and really like the end result as I felt able to use more marks and understood fully about how they can show the textures and build up an image without the need for colour – this one I felt was like a photographer working in black and white.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I was looking through the images this one was a surprise choice for me but I couldn’t resist it – the original image was made with black and white paint but I chose to try and portray the textures I felt it showed in sharpie pen, crayon and pencil in different tones.  Strangely this is the one I finally understood how marks can provoke feelings – the marks were done swiftly but with deliberation and were gone over several times in places in the different media and the feeling of the textures is one of chaos, abandonment and sadness and reminded me of either plastic sheeting or voile over hard construction or water running down over a dilapidated barn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next image I chose to work on was one that was originally done with ink and salt on wet paper.   I chose a crayon base to do the base marks along with pencil before using a thick brush with ink over certain places before marking again with crayons and pencils where I felt it needed – all these marks worked together to show the texture created by the salt on the ink but also I wanted to show what textural analogy could be produced with adding in the different tones of the different media.  I wanted a combination of soft and hard, fast and slow or bold and subtle and unintentionally created a watery puddle scene or firework scene with subtle undertones that bring the beauty out of the bolder textures.  Feelings for me? again slightly chaotic but bold and beautiful.

Finally I wanted to try a new image to fully understand how these marks work for me and how now I can show textures and different marks – I add this in because on one of the sketches I made a note that states I like symmetry and geometry and order and the black and blue textural studies are anything but these mark making exercises have forced me to loosen up and enjoy not trying to create an exact copy but to create that analogy and that states what I feel. The image again is that of the Kings Highway in Maui by Daniel Sullivan – a pool on the ancient route.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Like previously I have used a mixture of crayons, colour pencils and sketching pencils – mainly crayons with some small areas of sketching pencils for the water and rocky edges with the coloured pencils being used primarily for the foliage in the background.  It was interesting to use different marks for the different areas to portray the different textures and feelings of each area – the pool smooth and inviting and calm with the rocky edges whilst the foliage full of the textures of the leaves and hanging vines or branches.  Each area I had to consider separately and decide what textures and again I seem to be using a small selection of marks that I can use in different ways and with different media.

My feelings on this are what I feel they should be for this image – if I take away the photograph it feels like a secluded pool where you can sit and enjoy the sounds around you.  The marks in the background of the foliage are slightly chaotic and tumble over one another over a cliff edge or bank – small definite marks but each with their place.  The softer marks for the pebbles and boulders around the pool with some jagged edges which go into the soft water of the pool – soft but again in places defined to show the texture of the stone.

For me this picture enables me to understand the exercises.

 

This entry was posted in ASSIGNMENT 1, ASSIGNMENTS, Coursework, Part 1, Project 1, Stage 4. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

